Support us!

If you like this site please help and make click on any of these buttons!

Universities in India

Universities are the place for the higher education that any class 12 passed student can join. Universities are designed to offer various subjects in various streams. Till 31 December 2015, nearly 740 universities including public and private are working to provide the high quality education to the students. Public universities are supported by the Government of India and the state governments, while private universities are mostly supported by various bodies and societies. Universities in India are recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC), which draws its power from the University Grants Commission Act, 1956. In addition, 15 Professional Councils are established, controlling different aspects of accreditation and coordination.

The types of universities include:

Central universities or Union universities: They are established by an Act of Parliament and are under the purview of the Department of Higher Education in the Union Human Resource Development Ministry. The UGC lists 46 central universities.

State universities: They are run by the state government of each of the states and territories of India, and are usually established by a local legislative assembly act. As of 31 December 2015, the UGC lists 342 state universities. The oldest establishment date listed by the UGC is 1857, shared by the University of Mumbai, the University of Madras and the University of Calcutta. Note that most State Universities are "affiliating universities" in that they administer a large number of "affiliated colleges" (many located in very small towns) that typically offer a range of undergraduate courses, but may also offer post-graduate courses. More established colleges may even offer PhD programs in some departments with the approval of the affiliating university.

Deemed university, or "Deemed to be University": The status of autonomy granted by the Department of Higher Education on the advice of the UGC, under Section 3 of the UGC Act. As of 31 December 2015, the UGC lists 125 deemed universities. According to this list, the first institute to be granted deemed university status was Indian Institute of Science, which was granted this status on 12 May 1958. Note that in many cases, the same listing by the UGC covers several institutes.

Private universities: They are approved by the UGC. They can grant degrees but they are not allowed to have off-campus affiliated colleges. The UGC list of private universities as on 31 December 2015 lists 227 private universities. The state with the most universities is Rajasthan with 71 universities. Tamil Nadu is the state with the most deemed universities, numbering 28.Gujarat has the most state universities, 26. West Bengal has 25 state universities, and Uttar Pradesh has 24. Rajasthan has the most private universities (41) while Delhi and Uttar Pradesh have five central universities each, the largest number of all the states and territories.

Check All Universities in India

All Universities List

Universities Classification

Agricultural Universities in India Central Universities in India
Deemed Unversities in India Government Universities in India
IIM's in India IIT's in India
Open Universities in India Private Universities in India
State Universities in India  

Universities By State in India

Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh
Assam Bihar
Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana
Himachal Pradesh Jammu and kashmir
Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh
Maharashtra Manipur
Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Orissa
Puducherry Punjab
Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Tripura
Uttar Pradesh Uttarakhand
West Bengal  

Detail of universities is as follows:

StateCentral UniversitiesState UniversitiesDeemed UniversitiesPrivate UniversitiesTotal
Andhra Pradesh0205025
Arunachal Pradesh10179
Himachal Pradesh1401722
Jammu and Kashmir27009
Madhya Pradesh22031540
Tamil Nadu22228052
Uttar Pradesh524102463
West Bengal1251734
Please to get more information
Please enter Roll NO
By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use