Support us!

If you like this site please help and make click on any of these buttons!

Current Affairs on Sports

Current affairs on 29 May 2017, Latest May Current Affairs

C.A. Bhavani Devi became the first-ever Indian to win a gold medal in Turnoi Satellite Fencing Championship

  • C.A. Bhavani Devi created history by becoming first-ever Indian to win gold medal in the sabre event of the Turnoi Satellite Fencing Championship held at Reykjavik in Iceland on 27 May 2017.
  • Bhavani Devi from Chennai beat Sarah Jane Hampson of Great Britain 15-13 on points. Earlier she had beaten another British fencer Jessica Corby 15-11 in the semifinal.

South Korea won Sudirman Cup 2017

  • South Korea won Badminton's Sudirman Cup after 14 years.
  • South Korea won by 3-2 victory over 10-time champions China at Australia's Gold Coast. 
  • Earlier South Korea won the Sudirman Cup in 1991 and 1993.

Current affairs on 25 May 2017

Jhulan Goswami becomes world's highest wicket-taker in ODIs

  1. Indian fast bowler - Jhulan Goswami and ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year award winner in 2007, became the leading wicket-taker in Women’s ODIs after taking her 181 wickets and thus going past Australia’s Cathryn Fitzpatrick record of 180 wickets. 
  2. She now has 181 wickets in 153 matches at an average of 21.76 with two five-wicket and 4 four-wicket hauls.
Posted on: 25th May 2017 Read complete Article →

Alexander Zverev win Italian Open title

  1. The 20-year-old Alexander Zverev defeated the world no. 2 ranking player Novak Djokovic 6-4, 6-3 to win the Italian Open, 2017. The final was held in Rome, Italy. 
  2. Zverev became the youngest player to win a Masters 1000 event since Djokovic won in Miami a decade ago at 19. 

Current affairs on 23 May 2017

Mumbai Indians won the 2017 Vivo Indian Premier League (IPL)

  1. Mumbai Indians won 3rd time IPL and became the most successful team in IPL history.
  2. Mumbai Indians’ earlier IPL titles came in 2013 and 2015. Chennai Superkings (CSK) and Kolkata Knightriders (KKR) both have won the IPL title twice – CSK in 2010 and 2011 and KKR in 2012 and 2014.
Posted on: 23rd May 2017 Read complete Article →

Biggest opening stand in ODIs in women cricket was made by Indian women team

  1. The 320-run opening stand between Deepti Sharma and Poonam Raut is the biggest opening stand in ODIs not just for women but even for men.
  2. India scored 358/2 and Ireland, in reply, were all out for 109 in 40 overs, handing India’s women their biggest victory in terms of runs in ODIs.

Chelsea won the 2016-17 edition of English Premier League (EPL)

  1. Chelsea won the English Premier League (EPL) title for 2016-17 after its 1-0 win against West Bromwich in its 36th round match on 13 May 2017.
  2. This is the sixth EPL title for Chelsea.
  3. EPL is the top English professional league for association football clubs, established in 1992.

Current affairs on 09 May 2017

Great Britain won Sultan Azlan Shah men’s Tournament

  1. After 23 years, Great Britain won the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup title with 4 -3 victory in the final against defending champions Australia on 6 May 2017.
  2. India won the bronze medal after defeating New Zealand 4-0 while Malaysia beat Japan 3-1 in the playoff for the fifth spot.
Posted on: 09th May 2017 Read complete Article →

Current affairs on 06 May 2017

Wimbledon increases prize money

  1. Wimbledon Grand Slam tournament has announced the increase of pay out to $40.8 million in prize money.
  2. The winners of the singles competitions will pocket $2.8 million each which is $258,000 more than in 2016.
  3. American Serena Williams will miss this time as she will not participate in this year’s edition as she is pregnant and is current champions of the tournament along with Andy Murray.
Posted on: 06th May 2017 Read complete Article →

Current affairs on 03 May 2017

Aizawl FC has won its maiden I-League title

  1. Aizawl FC  become the first ever club from the northeast to win its maiden I-League title against Shillong Lajong in their final game of the league season.
  2. This was the 10th edition of the I-League held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Shillong, The I-League was formed in 2007 as the ONGC I-League with an aim to professionalize the game of football in India. It is a successor of the National Football League and is considered as the primary competition in the field of Indian football.
Posted on: 03rd May 2017 Read complete Article →
Posted on: 03rd May 2017 Read complete Article →
Please to get more information
Please enter Roll NO
By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use